| Blog Home |

§4. OOYUNUMA and Yamada Onsen. One after another open hot spring.


 This Aria having come to be known next to sulfur by hot spring. In 1885, Geyser of the CHISE NUPURI south foot was discovered and we built hut of bamboo grass credit in the side and made bathhouse.

 In 1894, Yamada Kunikichi which was one of the first settlers to Kutchan found hot spring in east base of a mountain of NISEKO AN’NUPURI. He opened it as Yamada Onsen in 1897. This event became beginning of “Kucchancho character Yamada” with GRAND HIRAFU today.

 Hot spring was discovered one after another, and NISEKO gradually became eminent mountains hot-spring village afterwards in Hokkaido. When Hokkaido railroad (existing JR Hakodate Main Line) was inaugurated between Otaru – Hakodate in 1904, picturesque scenery of NISEKO and interest in hot spring rose still more.

Goshiki Onsen (the early days of the Showa era)

 It was piled up unexpectedly that ski popularity rose among thing and students of Hokkaido empire university (existing Hokkaido University) and Otaru high grade commercial school (existing Otaru University of Commerce) whom we spent from the Taisho era on Showa, and hot spring of NISEKO gathered popularity. People were awakened to great charm of backcountry skiing.