Archives: 2010年1月


02-09_yamada_onsen.jpg


 This Aria having come to be known next to sulfur by hot spring. In 1885, Geyser of the CHISE NUPURI south foot was discovered and we built hut of bamboo grass credit in the side and made bathhouse.

 In 1894, Yamada Kunikichi which was one of the first settlers to Kutchan found hot spring in east base of a mountain of NISEKO AN’NUPURI. He opened it as Yamada Onsen in 1897. This event became beginning of “Kucchancho character Yamada” with GRAND HIRAFU today.

 Hot spring was discovered one after another, and NISEKO gradually became eminent mountains hot-spring village afterwards in Hokkaido. When Hokkaido railroad (existing JR Hakodate Main Line) was inaugurated between Otaru – Hakodate in 1904, picturesque scenery of NISEKO and interest in hot spring rose still more.


01-Image1-1-1_goshiki.jpg
Goshiki Onsen (the early days of the Showa era)


 It was piled up unexpectedly that ski popularity rose among thing and students of Hokkaido empire university (existing Hokkaido University) and Otaru high grade commercial school (existing Otaru University of Commerce) whom we spent from the Taisho era on Showa, and hot spring of NISEKO gathered popularity. People were awakened to great charm of backcountry skiing.


03-02.jpg


 Let’s describe the former history from 1960 when HIRAFU skiing area started a business.

 In the Edo era, sulfur is mined by IWAO NUPURI in the northwest neighbor of NISEKO AN’NUPURI with GRAND HIRAFU, and it is left for record to have been carried out into Iwanai..


4.gif

 When it was the Meiji era, there was official guarantee of foreign employee Lyman (geologist) of Hokkaido Bureau of Development, and full-scale dig started. The Mitsui interest was Japan in 1886 and extended production by the first steam refinement method. Sulfur was raw materials which were indispensable to production of match which was then Japanese important export.

 At first prehistory of NISEKO HIRAFU begins in Iwanai side in this way